Quinoa, Avocado, Spinach Salad

Quinoa was first introduced to me by my mum when I was preggo with our daughter – so this was over two years ago. I have included it in our meals on and off, and also have a pack of it in the pantry, to use whenever I get inspired. I made a chicken dish over the weekend and thought instead of making the typical green salad I usually do, I decided to make a salad with quinoa in it

Loved it – it didn’t really pass with the 2 year old LOL, she very kindly pushed it off her plate and said – mama no keenwah!  so we gave her mashed potatoes instead with her chicken dish … K and I loved the flavours of the dressing! It was so yum!

Enjoy this Vegan AND Gluten Free dish!

Quinoa was first introduced to me by my mum when I was preggo with our daughter - so this was over two years ago. I have included it in our meals on and off, and also have a pack of it in the pantry, to use whenever I get inspired. I made a chicken dish over the weekend and thought instead of making the typical green salad I usually do, I decided to make a salad with quinoa in it

Summary

    Ingredients

    1 cup quinoa (cooked in 2 cups water or stock)
    1 large avocado
    2 cups of baby spinach
    12 half cherry tomatoes cut into
    Spring onion
    2 cloves minced
    2 tbsps red wine vinegar
    2 tbsps olive oil
    Pinch of to taste salt

    Steps

    1. First cook the quinoa! You can use water or stock or half of each
    2. In a bowl mix together the last four ingredients: cloves, red wine vinegar, olive oil and add some salt if needed. Mix together well to combine and set aside
    3. In a large bowl, add the spinach, tomatoes, avocado and the spring onion. Once the quinoa is cooked, add it to the bowl
    4. Add the dressing and stir to combine – do it gently as you don’t want the avocados to get all mushed
    5. Serve right away. I served this with some chicken. The leftovers was my lunch, and I didn’t heat it… it tasted great still, probably cause the dressing got to blend more and sorta marinate LOL

    Leave a Reply

    