Mushroom Masala ~ Guest post from Traditionally Modern Food

Hi Friends,

I am Vidya Traditionally Modern Food . Happy to be featured in EaterSpot. Thanks Beula for the great opportunity. Being an Indian, I am glad to be a Part of the Indian Independence day

celebrations at EaterSpot. Jai Hind!

Before getting into the recipe, a small intro to my blog 🙂

I enjoy various Cuisines, and started trying my hand in preparing the food I loved. You can find a mix of vegetarian Indian and International recipes in my space. I have a Little one, so I prefer spending less time in kitchen, and most of my recipes reflect that. Snacks is something I cherish, but I get conscious of the calorie factor, so I also try to make traditional Indian snacks with minimal oil. Visit my page /FB page /Pinterest to get in touch with me

Bringing my Mushroom Peas Masala here. Hope you all enjoy 🙂

Preparation Time : 10 min | Cooking Time : 25 mins | Serves : 3

Recipe Category: Side dish

Hi Friends,

Summary

    Ingredients

    200 grams Button Mushroom –
    1/2 cup Frozen Peas –
    1 big , Onion – finely chopped
    2 Tomato –
    1 tsp Ginger garlic paste –
    1 tsp Garam Masala powder –
    1/2 tsp Chilli powder –
    1/2 tsp Coriander powder –
    1/4 tsp Cumin powder –
    1/4 cup Milk –
    1/8 tsp Turmeric powder –
    1/4 tsp Cinnamon Powder –
    Salt – as needed
    To temper :
    1 tsp Oil –
    2 pods Cardamom –
    1 Bay leaf –

    Steps

    1. Add caption
    2. • Wash the Mushroom well with hot water and keep it soaked in water (As mushroom turns to oxidise, I added a pinch of turmeric powder in water to prevent them changing color)
    3. • Boil onion and tomato in hot water and strain the water. When it comes to room temperature, blend them into fine paste
    4. • Add oil to the pan. Add bay leaf and cardamom after the oil becomes little hot. Add ginger garlic paste and sauté for 30 seconds. Add the blended tomato and onion puree and cook for 2 -3 minutes. Add garam masala, coriander powder, cumin powder, chilli powder, turmeric powder and allow it to cook for 2-3mins
    5. • Add the mushroom, peas and salt. Saute well for 2-3 minutes
    6. • Add cinnamon powder and milk and let it cook for 3-5 minutes
    7. My Notes:
    8. • I didn’t add water while cooking mushroom, as there was enough moisture, but you can
    9. sprinkle little water if required
    10. • Instead of milk, you can add 1/4 cup of curd or 2 tbsp of fresh cream
    11. • If you are using a cinnamon stick, add it while tempering
    12. • This gravy goes well with any variety rice like fried rice/ pulao as well as with naan/rotis
    13. • I boiled the onions and blended them, as it will save time while cooking. Instead, you
    14. can also sauté the onions

    Leave a Reply

    