Prawn Masala

It’s been ageeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees since I made shrimp/prawns – its definitely one of my favourite seafoody things to eat 🙂 so figured it would be perfect to make it for our Saturday lunch. I love saturday lunches especially when we are at home together … During the week we only get to eat dinner together, so getting to eat two meals over the weekend as a family together is so nice! 🙂

I decided to give a tray of shrimps/prawns that I bought from the supermarket on Friday an Indian kick. This dish has that aromatic fragrance of the spices coming through and its not very spicy I think. Its great as appetizer, or serve it along with some rice like I did

I hope you enjoy this recipe like we did!

It was finger licking good … yum yum yum!

It's been ageeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees since I made shrimp/prawns - its definitely one of my favourite seafoody things to eat 🙂 so figured it would be perfect to make it for our Saturday lunch. I love saturday lunches especially when we are at home together ... During the week we only get to eat dinner together, so getting to eat two meals over the weekend as a family together is so nice! 🙂 I decided to give a tray of shrimps/prawns that I bought from the supermarket on Friday an Indian kick. This dish has that aromatic fragrance of the spices coming through and its not very spicy I think. Its great as appetizer, or serve it along with some rice like I did I hope you enjoy this recipe like we did! It was finger licking good ... yum yum yum!

Summary

    Ingredients

    750 gms of de-veined shrimp
    1 large onion chopped fine
    2 tsps of garlic paste
    2 tsps of ginger paste
    1/2 tsp Turmeric powder
    1 1/2 tsps of coriander powder
    1/4 tsp chili powder
    1/4 tsp cumin seeds
    1 1/2 tsps garam masala powder
    1 tbsp lemon juice
    to taste Salt
    15 Curry leaves
    2 tbsps oil
    Chopped coriander leaves for garnish

    Steps

    1. I began by marinating the washed, de-veined shrimp in the ginger and garlic pastes, 1/2 tbsp lemon juice, some salt and also the spice powders: turmeric, coriander and chilli
    2. After 20 minutes, add maybe 1/4 cup of water to it and bring the shrimp along with the marinade juice to a boil. Five minutes later, remove it from the heat and drain the water
    3. Next heat some oil in a pan, and add the cumin seeds, curry leaves and the onions. Once the onions have softened, add the shrimp and the garam masala and stir fry for 4-5 minutes. Once the garam masala goes from a raw smell to fragant smell, add the left over lemon juice, give it a quick toss and transfer to a serving bowl
    4. Garnish with freshly chopped coriander leaves

    I paired this with some tomato rice. C[http://cucumbertown.com/tomato-rice-recipe-15920-dish](http://cucumbertown.com/tomato-rice-recipe-15920-dish)LICK HERE FOR THE RECIPE

    I changed the tomato rice slightly from the recipe, when I made it today. Instead of adding just water, I added coconut milk … So to make two cups of tomato rice … 2 cups rice + 2 cups coconut milk and 2 cups of the tomato sauce … Hope that made sense 😉

    Leave a Reply

    