It’s my Mums Birthday & It’s a THREE RECIPES post!

It’s my mum’s birthday today … she is in Kuwait and we are in New Zealand, a bit far to drive over to eat some birthday cake with her, so headed home after a long day at work and whipped up this celebration meal. I had to go to the supermarket to grab some milk and these beautifullllllll meringues were staring at me. If you live in New Zealand, you can get these beauties at New World for $3.70 something … I got us a White Chocolate Cranberry Meringue. I then decided to make a de-constructed pav for dessert … probably not the bestest choice after having met my personal trainer today … but a cheat day once in a while is ok … 🙂

Kale is one of my mum’s fav veggies … Pams Brand has this baby kale in bags now just like baby spinach, so I grabbed a a bag to make one of our current family favorite – a roasted sweet potato with maple butter recipe yum yum yum

Finally Chicken had to be included for the 2 year old princess so I made a super easy stove top lemon chicken wing recipe – you can use the same recipe and pop it in the oven too … I just didn’t have a whole lot of time so in the pan it went.

Only 14 more weeks till we land in Kuwait … woo hoo!!!

It's my mum's birthday today ... she is in Kuwait and we are in New Zealand, a bit far to drive over to eat some birthday cake with her, so headed home after a long day at work and whipped up this celebration meal. I had to go to the supermarket to grab some milk and these beautifullllllll meringues were staring at me. If you live in New Zealand, you can get these beauties at New World for $3.70 something ... I got us a White Chocolate Cranberry Meringue. I then decided to make a de-constructed pav for dessert ... probably not the bestest choice after having met my personal trainer today ... but a cheat day once in a while is ok ... 🙂 Kale is one of my mum's fav veggies ... Pams Brand has this baby kale in bags now just like baby spinach, so I grabbed a a bag to make one of our current family favorite - a roasted sweet potato with maple butter recipe yum yum yum Finally Chicken had to be included for the 2 year old princess so I made a super easy stove top lemon chicken wing recipe -

Summary

    Ingredients

    ROASTED SWEET POTATO with KALE & MAPLE BUTTER
    cups Couple of fresh kale
    4 sweet potatoes diced
    Olive Oil
    to taste Salt and Pepper
    2 tbsps butter
    4 – 5 tbsps maple syrup
    10 Walnuts
    PAN ROASTED LEMON CHICKEN WINGS
    1 tray of chicken wings
    1.5 Juice of lemons
    4 cloves garlic mashed to a paste
    to taste salt and Pepper
    1/4 tsp coriander powder
    to fry Oil
    1/2 lemon for garnish
    freshly chopped coriander leaves
    DECONSTRUCTED PAVLOVA:
    1 Meringue
    250 mls or so whipped cream
    Fresh berries

    Steps

    1. —-ROASTED SWEET POTATO with KALE & MAPLE BUTTER—-
    2. Preheat the oven to 180C
    3. Chop up the sweet potatoes, and toss it with some olive oil, salt and pepper. Lay it on a baking tray and bake until the sweet potatoes are cooked through. About 25 mins or so
    4. When it was almost cooked through, I melted the butter along with the maple syrup in a pan over medium low heat. It will thicken and then I added the walnuts and turned off the heat
    5. Time to assemble it all. In a large bowl add the kale, then put the sweet potatoes and finally pour the maple butter … yum yum yum
    6. The heat of the sweet potatoes and the maple butter will wilt the kale a bit … If you don’t get kale in your country, use baby spinach instead
    7. Toss it all evenly and its ready to be served.
    8. —–PAN ROASTED LEMON CHICKEN WINGS—–
    9. Take a bowl and place the washed chicken wings. To it add the mashed garlic, lemon juice, coriander powder, salt and pepper. Give it all a toss and let it marinate in the fridge for about 30mins
    10. When ready to cook, heat some oil, and add the marinated chicken wings. Cook on medium low – high heat and toss frequently
    11. Once cooked, transfer to a plate, garnish with the lemon wedges and coriander leaves
    12. DECONSTRUCTED PAVLOVA:
    13. I used a store bought meringue from the store – it was a white chocolate cranberry meringue. I used a rolling pin and whacked it a bit so it broke into chunks of different sizes. I whipped the cream and then mixed them together. I didn’t use fresh fruit, but adding freshly chopped strawberries will be yummo.

    Hope you enjoy these recipes!!!

    Leave a Reply

    