Tuna Masala

This recipe shows you how you can take a can of store bought tuna and jazz it up to become something very delicious. I was born and raised in the Middle East and I ate a lot of tuna sandwiches. This recipe is something similar to what my mum would have made growing up. Everytime I make this, it makes me think of home hahha …It’s quick and easy and delicious! On a side note, if you serve this in a bread or a bun, my mum always recommends including some chopped apple pieces on the side haha … don’t ask why – she just says the combo is great! 🙂

This recipe shows you how you can take a can of store bought tuna and jazz it up to become something very delicious. I was born and raised in the Middle East and I ate a lot of tuna sandwiches. This recipe is something similar to what my mum would have made growing up. Everytime I make this, it make

Summary

    Ingredients

    1 can of tuna
    1 onion diced
    2 medium size tomatoes chopped
    1 tbsp garlic paste
    1 tbsp ginger paste
    1 chile slit lengthwise (optional)
    1/4 tsp cumin seeds
    1/4 tsp Turmeric powder
    1/2 tsp coriander powder
    1/4 tsp chile powder
    Handful coriander leaves chopped
    to taste Salt
    Oil

    Steps

    1. To the heated oil, add the cumin seeds and onion. Once the onions has softened add the garlic and ginger pastes. Add the chile if you want. I have mentioned slit lengthwise, you can chop it real fine too.
    2. Next add the spices: turmeric, coriander and chile. Allow this to cook until the raw smell of the spices becomes fragant. Add the salt and the tomatoes.
    3. Give it all a quick stir and I let it cook on medium low. About 10-ish mins later, you will have a mostly cooked, fragrant, tomato-onion mixture.
    4. As the final step, I add the can of tuna. Add the freshly chopped coriander leaves, stir and transfer to a serving bowl.
    5. Serving suggestions: This goes great with rotis, or bread/buns like I did on this occasion. Adding potatoes to this mix and serving it with rice is a great combo too!

    Leave a Reply

    