Basundi

A few days ago I got into an Indian cooking craze … I made lots of indian food and then I thought I should make an Indian sweet dish … after all its EASTER! It’s a time to celebrate the resurrection of Christ and what He finished on the cross 2000 years ago … so after thinking about what I haven’t tried, I decided to make some basundi … I think I ate this over three years ago …Never knew it was super easy to make as well …I did it find it a bit toooo sweet, so served them in smaller bowls instead, and you also add a bit more milk to balance the taste.

Enjoy!

  • Servings: 7-serving
  • Time: 30 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A few days ago I got into an Indian cooking craze ... I made lots of indian food and then I thought I should make an Indian sweet dish ... after all its EASTER! It's a time to celebrate the resurrection of Christ and what He finished on the cross 2000 years ago ... so after thinking about what I hav

Summary

  • Cuisine: indian
  • Course: dessert
  • Cooking Time: 30 mins

Ingredients

5 cups full fat milk
1 can sweetened condensed milk (400ml worth)
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cardamom powder
a few strands saffron
1/2 cup worth of raisins , slivered almonds and pistachios

Steps

  1. In a heavy bottom pot, pour the milk and condensed milk and allow it to boil on low heat for about 20-25 mins.
  2. Stir often so that the milk mixture does not burn or get stuck on the bottom. The milk mixture will thicken, scrap the milk solids from the sides and add it back to the basundi mixture.
  3. After 20ish mins, add the nutmeg, cardamom, saffron, almonds and raisins.
  4. Stir one more time and let the basundi stay on the heat for a minute or two.
  5. You can serve the basundi, hot or cold … It tastes great no matter the temperature 🙂

Leave a Reply

