Cheese & Corn Savoury Tarts

If you have been following me for a while now, you will know that afternoon tea is my favourite time of day during the weekend. Usually when my daughter is napping on a Saturday, I am busy making her a little sweet or savoury treat. I bought some tart molds during my holidays back in January, so I pulled out the big ones for the adults and the little ones for her and made these really quick and easy but yet delicious savoury tarts!

Enjoy

  • Servings: 4-serving
  • Time: 30 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

If you have been following me for a while now, you will know that afternoon tea is my favourite time of day during the weekend. Usually when my daughter is napping on a Saturday, I am busy making her a little sweet or savoury treat. I bought some tart molds during my holidays back in January, so I

Summary

  • Course: snack
  • Cooking Time: 30 mins

Ingredients

Savoury pastry sheet
1 cup corn
1 cup shredded cheese like cheddar or a mix of cheeses
1/4 cup mayonaise
to taste Salt and Pepper
4 tbsps Tomato sauce

Steps

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C
  2. If you are using frozen corn, put it in the microwave for 45seconds or so.
  3. Lay out the pastry in the tart molds. I used store bought ones (yes I know I cheated haha), if you make it at home use that instead.
  4. In a bowl, I mixed together corn, mayo and cheese. I used a mix of cheddar and parmesan. Season with salt and pepper and mix together.
  5. In each tart, I spread a little tomato sauce and then topped it with the corn mixture.
  6. Into the oven it went and cooked till the tarts were a nice golden brown and the cheese was cooked through.
  7. I took it out and let it cool down a little bit before serving it for afternoon tea. This was a treat with both hubby and little miss.
  8. PS: If you want to make this non-vegetarian, add some cooked and shredded chicken breast to the corn mixture.
  9. Serve these warm!

Leave a Reply

