Pan Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

I have had mashed potato cravings for over a week, and because of that craving this dish came about! I love a lemon-herb combo on my roast chicken, but didn’t want to roast up a big bird, so I got some chicken thighs and made this quick and simple lunch over the weekend.

This dish definitely uses a good amount of lemon zest and lemon juice, so I bought about 5-6 lemons.

  • Servings: 3-serving
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

I have had mashed potato cravings for over a week, and because of that craving this dish came about! I love a lemon-herb combo on my roast chicken, but didn't want to roast up a big bird, so I got some chicken thighs and made this quick and simple lunch over the weekend. This dish definitely uses a

Summary

  • Course: main course
  • Cooking Time: 45 mins

Ingredients

6 – 8 chicken thighs (bone in, skin on, optional)
1 1/4 cups chicken stock
2 tsps lemon zest
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 tbsp mustard
1 tbsp olive oil
1 1/2 tsps dried oregano
1/2 tsp dried thyme
to taste Salt
200 C Preheat the oven to .

Steps

  1. First we make the lemon-herb marinade. In a bowl mix together 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp mustard, 1 tsp lemon zest, 1 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp dried thyme, 1/4 tsp salt. Mix this together and then pour it over the chicken thighs and rub it into the chicken pieces. You want the meat well coated. I went with skinless thighs but you can go with skin on, it definitely makes it extra crispy. Definitely go with the bone in thighs. I let this marinate for 15mins.
  2. In another bowl mix together the chicken stock, lemon juice and zest. I grated a LOT of zest LOL while mkaing this dish.
  3. Once ready, in a heavy bottom pan, heat some oil and place the thighs (skin side down) and sear it on both sides. I gave each side about 3-4minutes.
  4. Add the chicken stock mixture to the pot and I did this to help remove all the lemon zest and chicken pieces stuck to the pan.
  5. I wasn’t using an oven proof pan, so I transferred the chicken pieces in an oven proof dish and poured the chicken stock mixture over it and let it roast for about 25minutes.
  6. Once ready, I served this with some mashed potatoes and carrots.

Leave a Reply

