Pumpkin Risotto

Risotto is one of my favorite dishes to eat … not much to make because of the time it takes haha … Anyways, not so long ago my 3 year old got into this cooking phase. Anytime I get to the kitchen she comes running and says can I help you mama? One week night I had a bit of left over pumpkin soup from the night before and needed to use it up … and it was also a night where little miss insisted that she had to cook with me. I have made pasta dishes with pumpkin soup before and decided to try make a risotto out of it.

This dish was made by my daughter and I and it was perfect with very limited ingredients. She insisted on stirring the whole time, so with just 5 ingredients it was easier to stay close to her and the stove and keep an eye on her…

  • Servings: 3-serving
  • Time: 45 mins
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Risotto is one of my favorite dishes to eat ... not much to make because of the time it takes haha ... Anyways, not so long ago my 3 year old got into this cooking phase. Anytime I get to the kitchen she comes running and says can I help you mama? One week night I had a bit of left over pumpkin soup

Summary

  • Cuisine: italian
  • Course: main course
  • Cooking Time: 45 mins

Ingredients

3 cups arborio rice
6 cups pumpkin soup
2 cups stock
1 tsp butter
to taste Salt & Pepper
Grated Parmesan cheese

Steps

  1. In a pot I mixed together the pumpkin soup along with some stock. You can also mix it with water but the stock definitely adds some flavour to it. Bring that to a slight boil and turn off the heat.
  2. In a non stick pan, melt some butter. Add the Arborio rice and stir to combine. I stirred it around for 5 minutes. Then slowly pour in ladle after ladle of the pumpkin soup. I had the heat on medium low.
  3. My amazing 3 year old assisted by stirring through so that the rice and the soup were well combined. Continue to pour the soup till its all in the pot with the rice. Season with salt and pepper and let it cook until the rice has cooked through fully.
  4. Finishing step is to add in some grated parmesan and give it all a good stir. Transfer to a serving bowl and eat straight away!

Leave a Reply

