Pandan Coconut Rice

I love Malaysian cuisine a LOT! I was properly introduced to it when I moved to New Zealand in 2010. Every thursday of my first year here was date night with hubby and often we ate malaysian. I love different aspects of that cuisine.

There is an asian store across the road from my work and I love going through their aisles and freezer bins. One of those days of browsing, I picked up some pandan leaves and some other bits and pieces to use in my cooking.

I made this rice dish as an alternative to plain white rice. I loved the coconut and pandan flavours that came through … it was quite nice and very fragrant!

  • Servings: 3-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

I love Malaysian cuisine a LOT! I was properly introduced to it when I moved to New Zealand in 2010. Every thursday of my first year here was date night with hubby and often we ate malaysian. I love different aspects of that cuisine. There is an asian store across the road from my work and I love go

Summary

  • Course: main course
  • Cooking Time: 30 mins

Ingredients

2 cups rice
4 cups coconut milk
2 pandan leaves tied
to taste Salt

Steps

  1. You can make this rice dish the way you usually cook rice. I opted to use the electric rice cooker.
  2. Wash the rice and place it in the cooker or sauce pot you are using. Put the rest of the ingredients and give it a stir. I have mentioned 4 cups coconut milk, you can always go with 2 cups milk plus 2 cups water.
  3. Once the rice is fully cooked through, gently fluff it, remove the pandan leaves and transfer to a serving bowl.
  4. I served with along with a vegetable curry that I cooked with a red curry paste

Leave a Reply

