Nimish

The inspiration behind this dish is Rick Stein’s Indian recipe show that aired on food TV here a week ago. They had a whole afternoon of Rick Stein’s travel through India,  and since I am on holiday waiting for baby to arrive, I stationed myself on the couch and watched a few hours worth of Rick Stein.

It was on his show that I first heard and saw this dessert called Nimish. It seemed too easy to not try, so I sent the husband off to the supermarket to buy some double cream (had the rest of the ingredients at home) and I quickly whipped up this dessert for new years day.

Enjoy this easy, creamy, slightly sweet Indian dessert. I recommend serving these in little bowls.

  • Servings: 4-cup
  • Time: 80 mins
  • Difficulty: beginner
  • Print

The inspiration behind this dish is Rick Stein's Indian recipe show that aired on food TV here a week ago. They had a whole afternoon of Rick Stein's travel through India, and since I am on holiday waiting for baby to arrive, I stationed myself on the couch and watched a few hours worth of Rick Ste

Summary

  • Cuisine: indian
  • Course: dessert
  • Preparation Time: 20 mins
  • Cooking Time: 60 mins

Ingredients

100 mls milk
450 gm double cream
50 gms icing sugar
pinch of strands A saffron
1 tsp rosewater
chopped/ ground pistachios

Steps

  1. Warm the milk a bit and soak the saffron strands. I let it sit there until the milk went yellow.
  2. In another bowl, whip the cream until soft peaks start to form.
  3. Don’t over whip the cream! 🙂 Next add in the icing sugar, the rose water and finally the saffron infused milk along with the strands.
  4. Mix it all together and pour them into serving bowls. Let it sit in the fridge for a few hours before serving.
  5. Garnish with chopped or ground pistachios, and if you like to go all fancy, maybe add a edible silver leaf (which ofcourse I did not have hahha)

Leave a Reply

