Savory Pesto Puff Tart

If there is one thing I make sure I ALWAYS have in my freezer it’s store bought puff pastry. Yes! I know I should be making it at home but when your four year old has an afternoon of constantly being hungry, it’s always such a relief  to be able to pull out the puff pastry sheets from the freezer and whip up a few different options to munch on. Ok, she wasn’t really fascinated by these puff tarts with red and green all over it but while I was pulling out ingredients from the fridge I noticed a little bag of these delicious little tomatoes that I had plucked from my tomato plant the day prior. It had to be used in some recipe so I looked around for a couple more things and saw the pesto and cheese and viola my little savoury snack came together!

These tarts are best eaten shortly after it’s made so if you are making these for friends, make it right when they arrive cause it only takes 12ish minutes in a hot oven.

Enjoy this one with a cuppa …

  • Servings: 2-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

If there is one thing I make sure I ALWAYS have in my freezer it's store bought puff pastry. Yes! I know I should be making it at home but when your four year old has an afternoon of constantly being hungry, it's always such a relief to be able to pull out the puff pastry sheets from the freezer an

Summary

  • Course: brunch
  • Preparation Time: 10 mins
  • Cooking Time: 10 mins

Ingredients

Puff pastry sheets
Cherry Tomatoes
Pesto
1/3 cup milk
Grated Cheese
Salt
Pepper

Steps

  1. Preheat the oven to 200c
  2. Cut out the puff pastry sheets into little squares or rectangles or even circles and line it on a baking tray that is lined with baking paper.
  3. Spread some pesto on each of them leaving a little room around the edges. Top it with a tomato for each puff tart. I cut them into half.  Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Top with cheese … Edam or mozzarella or Parmesan, whichever you prefer :).
  5. Finally brush the edges with some milk (or beaten egg) and place it in the oven and bake for 12-15 minutes until the pastry has risen and is golden.
  6. Serve immediately!

Leave a Reply

