Sautéed Ginger Bok Choy

Bok choy is one of my favourite asian veggies that I haven’t really prepared at home often. I have eaten it at asian restaurants and definitely know that is SO easy to cook but never have I planned it in my weekly menu. This past week I made some asian (not indian) food at home and I needed some veggies to go with this asian chicken recipe, that’s when I thought I should make some bok choy.

We shop at the farmers market every weekend and bok choy is like one of the cheapest veggies there .. I spent $1 NZD and got 4 little stalks for it … sooooo good … I cooked it the day I bought it and I suggest you do the same or cook it the next day atleast … you definitely want it fresh and crunchy and not wilted.

  • Servings: 3
  • Time: 10 mins
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: asian
  • Course: side dish
  • Cooking Technique: Sautéing
  • Preparation Time: 10 minutes mins
  • Cooking Time: 15minutes mins

Ingredients

4 stalks bok choy
1 tbsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
1 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsps oil
Toasted sesame seeds for garnish (optional)
Fried shallots for garnish (optional)

Steps

  1. Wash the bok choy and chop it into 3 or 4 chunks … don’t make it super small … you can also just cut off the bottom and leave it as long leaves.
  2. Heat some oil in a pan, and add the ginger and garlic paste. I have the ground paste at home, if you don’t, just smash some garlic cloves and a piece of ginger. You want a lot of the ginger flavour shining through in this dish.
  3. Give it a minute or two and then add the bok choy.
  4. Have the heat on medium low, add the soy sauce and cook it with the lid on, so the steam does all the work and cooks it beautifully.
  5. It took maybe max 5mins and it was done.
  6. Transfer to a serving plate and garnish with toasted sesame seeds and/or fried shallots.

Leave a Reply

