Strawberry Cream Cheese Pastries

Eaterspot is SIX years old!!!! Thanks so much for following me on my food blogging journey… Special thanks if you have been following from the very beginning. I remember being SO bored after moving to NZ from the US – the malls and shops (not supermarkets) closed by 5:30pm or so… thus after a full day at work instead of going out and about as most people in the Middle east do, I was home! I was newly married and a new migrant with not a lot of friends who believed I could cook cause I was an Indian born in Kuwait and educated in the States haha …. So in March around 6 years ago I jumped on a blogging site and created The EATERS-SPOT.

On here, I have shared some family recipes, new inventions, super fattening food and the lean diet kind, kids recipes, preggo meal ideas and what not and I don’t plan on stopping even if life gets all crazy busy with work, life and family commitments. I have enjoyed reading friends, family and people I have never met let me know they have tried my recipes or have gotten into cooking due to my blog.

I made these strawberry cream cheese pastries to celebrate! These are perfect for a morning / afternoon tea or brunch deal 🙂

Follow me on my facebook page if you haven’t yet!

  • Servings: 6
  • Time: 30 mins
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Eaterspot is SIX years old!!!! Thanks so much for following me on my food blogging journey... Special thanks if you have been following from the very beginning. I remember being SO bored after moving to NZ from the US - the malls and shops (not supermarkets) closed by 5:30pm or so... thus after a full day at work instead of going out and about as most people in the Middle east do, I was home! I was newly married and a new migrant with not a lot of friends who believed I could cook cause I was an Indian born in Kuwait and educated in the States haha .... So in March around 6 years ago I jumped on a blogging site and created The EATERS-SPOT.

Summary

  • Course: brunch
  • Cooking Technique: Baking
  • Preparation Time: 20 minutes mins
  • Cooking Time: 10 minutes mins

Ingredients

2 sheets puff pastry
1/4 cup cream cheese
2 tbsps strawberry jam
1/4 cup diced strawberries
1 egg
1 tbsp water
Powdered Sugar for dusting

Steps

  1. Preheat the oven to 200c
  2. I used store bought puff pastry, so I let it thaw out before I used a circle cookie cutter to cut out the circles. You can also use other shapes like a heart or a star.
  3. In a bowl I mixed together the softened cream cheese and strawberry jam.
  4. Cut the strawberries into really small pieces and put that in a separate bowl.
  5. When it’s time to assemble, place the cut out puff pastry circles on a baking sheet lined with baking paper.
  6. Add a teaspoon of the cream cheese mixture in the center of the circle and spread it around without covering 1/3rd of the edge.
  7. Add the strawberries, again without covering the edge
  8. Whisk together the egg with water and brush it on the edge.
  9. Pop it in the oven and watch it puff up. Once the edges are golden brown pull it out of the oven and let it cool a while before dusting it off with some powdered sugar.
  10. Serve / eat the same day!

Leave a Reply

