Tiropitas

Tiropita is a greek layered pastry made with layers of buttered phyllo and is filled with a cheese-egg mixture (thanks wiki!). I first ate this when I lived in the States cause my albanian friend made this along with some baklava. I never bothered to see how she made it but remember it being delicious. Fast forward 8years and I am here in Wellington, New Zealand and about a month ago I ate a tiropita from The Greek Food truck vendor at an event… it was just amazeballs … It brought back a lot of memories and I just had to make it !!!!
I am not sure if my friend will tell me off for maybe not following an authentic greek recipe – I did not check with her hahhah so I hope she doesn’t tell me off …

If you have been following my recipes recently, I have been talking about freezer friendly meals. I work full time, I am a mum and I am married to a man who doesn’t cook (he says I don’t let him inside the kitchen hahha). We lead a very busy life with our full time jobs, our involvement in our church and our businesses. I always like being prepared when it comes to food because the last thing I want to do is order pizza. So when I made these, I made a big batch and stuck them in the freezer for another busy day.

My four year old loved it… she liked that it was crunchy! She told me I did a really good job as she munched down two of these… It’s always a good feeling when your kids approve your meals 🙂

  • Time: 40 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Course: snack
  • Cooking Technique: Baking
  • Preparation Time: 20 mins
  • Cooking Time: 20 mins

Ingredients

1 cup crumbled feta
1 cup cottage cheese
3 eggs
1 cup melted butter
1 pack of phylo sheets, thawed
to taste Salt

Steps

  1. Phyllo sheets comes in all kind of sizes. The ones I bought were all purpose phyllo pastry sheets so I used a sheet to make a tiropita. If you are working with a whole sheet, I buttered the whole sheet and then folded it 4 times horizontally and put the filling in one corner and folded it into a triangle. If you don’t want it to have the layers / thickness, cut the sheet into 9 x 14 approx size.
  2. Mix the feta, cottage cheese, salt and eggs together in a bowl. Mix it together well.
  3. When it’s time to assemble the tiropita, get your things together: the bowl of the cheese mixture, the melted butter with a brush and the phyllo sheets along with a knife to cut out the phyllo.
  4. Cut out your phyllo according the instructions above and lay the sheet down horizontally in front of you. Place a teaspoon worth of the cheese mixture at the end of the sheet.
  5. Fold over the corner to make a triangle, continue folding side to side till you reach the end of that phyllo sheet. Brush the top with butter, it helped seal / hold down the phyllo from opening up.
  6. I kept going till I finished it all up and I got about 20 tiropitas. I baked only a few of them, so the rest are in the freezer for another time.
  7. When you are ready to bake, preheat the oven to 200C. Bake for 10-15mins or until it is golden brown.
  8. Serve shortly after its out of the oven. You don’t want it going straight from the oven to your mouth as the filling will be hot, so if you have kids either check the temperature or let them know not to take a big bite.
  9. Make some tzatziki to serve with this, if you can’t be bothered these taste great just as.

Leave a Reply

