Oatmeal Cookie Energy Bites

My family is such a snack crazy family. If you come over to our house in the weekend, I am usually in the kitchen making snacks on a Saturday afternoon … My daughter is a perfect representation of her dad and I … she LOVES snacks … In this day and age its so easy to waltz into a supermarket and grab treats from the snack aisle, but we all know it’s not necessarily healthy. So being a responsible adult and mum, I do take the time to think about what to make for snacks and energy bites are a result of that.

Energy bites have been a craze the last few years. It’s been couple of years now since I shared the No Bake Energy Bites recipe (Click here …). The recipe that I am sharing in this post has a lot more ingredients and it’s a great combination of nuts and dry fruits and is just a great little treat. It’s perfect for those 3pm pick me up moments while you are at work!

Now to all my friends, family and readers in India; before you say it’s a bit hard to find these nuts and dry fruits, I would like to introduce you to an amazing online store called Place of Origin. It was only recently I was introduced to this site and being an online shopper (referring to food and not clothes here hahha….) I fell in love with what they had on stock … Check out this pic … the pictures are just so yummilicious ….

I can’t wait to shop here … I’d be sitting right here in New Zealand and ordering stuff to send to my friends and relatives in India … how cool is that !!!

Alright now on to this recipe …. Hope you enjoy this sweet yet healthy treat!

  • Servings: 15-piece
  • Difficulty: beginner
  • Print

Summary

  • Course: snack

Ingredients

1 cup nuts (cashews, walnuts or almonds)
1 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 cup peanut butter (crunchy or smooth)
1/4 cup honey
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup cranberries

Steps

  1. As you can see above, I have made a few recommendations to choose for the nuts. I went with cashews… but if you can get your hands on walnuts or pecans go for that! … Take about a cup of cashews and grind it to a powdered texture in a food processor or blender. I used my spice grinder.
  2. Next grab a big bowl, and add all the dry ingredients one by one: Ground nuts, the oats, raisins and cranberries, cinnamon and nutmeg. I LOVE cranberries, so I decided to go with a mix of raisins and cranberries, you can just use raisins if you can’t find cranberries or vice versa. Definitely make sure you use old fashioned oats and not instant oats 🙂
  3. Add the honey and peanut butter ( I went with crunchy, but smooth works too) and mix well until completely blended. I used a spatula but you can use a electric mixer … I just couldn’t be bothered!
  4. Use a tablespoon to scoop out the mixture and roll into 1 inch balls. Store in an air-tight container in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

