Beef Cutlets

Cutlets are just the cutest little appetizer that you can make for a party, a potluck, when you have guests over or when you just want to add something extra special to your family meal.

As you will read below, I bought a tray of diced beef and then made mince out of it. I know its easier to buy mince in a tray, but I found making mince at home makes my dishes turn out much more delicious. I find the mince binds itself together with the rest of the ingredients, and the result is an absolutely soft on the inside, crunchy on the outside cutlet.

How did I serve this? I had an appetizer platter with dips. I baked some tandoori chicken, fried these beef cutlets and had a tamarind chutney and a mint yogurt dip. I chopped some cucumber and salad greens and placed it on the platter, added the meats and the dips and fried some poppadoms … Yes I know I should have taken a pic to show you, but trust me the platter looked gorgeous!

If you are not a big beef fan but love cutlets, check out my Tuna Cutlet and Chicken Cutlet recipes – they are just DELISH!

  • Time: 40 mins
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: indian
  • Course: appetizer
  • Cooking Technique: Deep-Frying
  • Preparation Time: 20 mins
  • Cooking Time: 20 mins

Ingredients

500 gms diced beef
1 onion chopped fine
1 potato boiled and mashed
1 tsp garlic paste
1 tsp ginger paste
2 chillies chopped fine
1 tsp garam masala
to taste Salt and pepper
1 cup panko breadcrumbs
1 egg
to fry Oil

Steps

  1. Put the diced beef in the food processor and mince away. Set aside in a bowl.
  2. Heat a tbsp worth of cooking oil, to it add the onion, green chilies and the ginger and garlic pastes. Cook on medium low heat till the onions soften.
  3. Add the garam masala. If you don’t have garam masala, a meat masala will work well too.
  4. In the bowl of beef mince, add the cooked onion mix and also the mashed potato.
  5. Season with salt and pepper and mix well so the ingredients are mashed and married up together. Then roll them out into cutlet patties.
  6. I use panko breadcrumbs for my cutlets cause of the beautiful crunch it gives, if you can’t find it, regular breadcrumbs should do.
  7. Get your frying station ready. Whisk an egg or two in a bowl, in another bowl have your breadcrumbs. Heat some oil to fry, and have kitchen towels ready for the cooked cutlets to rest on for a few seconds.
  8. Dip each beef cutlet in the egg and then coat it really well with the crumbs. The well coated it is, the better the crunch I say.
  9. Fry until golden brown. I had the heat on medium, so it cooked from the inside out.
  10. Drain on kitchen towels. Serve hot with some mint yogurt sauce or ketchup.

Leave a Reply

