Home made Baby Biscuits

There are so many stages that I love in the first year  of a child’s life but I definitely love the food exploring phase! I made these for an almost 9mos old who loves food and is big into finger food at the moment.  These biscuits are great because you know exactly what goes into them unlike the store bought rusks! These aren’t sweet but they smell and taste great … yes I might have tasted them and my 5.5yr old might have eaten a handful from the bowl after the picture was taken.

These are great for snacking …. for morning or afternoon tea snacks or when your baby just needs a quick nibble while you make their meal!  if you have an oven and have a baby on solids, I definitely recommend making these … they are just too easy and quick to make!

IMG_9615

Ingredients:
1 cup oat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup pureed fruit (Bananas / apples / pears)
5 tbsp water
2 tbsp coconut oil
2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 180C.

For the oat flour, I put some rolled oats in my grinder and powdered it to a flour consistency.

For the puréed fruit, I used 1/2cup of the apple & pear purée that I made at home plus 1/2 cup of a well ripe banana that I mashed to a purée consistency.

In a large bowl add the all purpose flour, oat flour and cinnamon. After mixing the dry ingredients together add the puréed fruit and the water.

Combine well before transferring to a clean surface where you can roll out the dough. If you find the dough, add some all purpose flour to bring it together (don’t add lots, just a little should be enough)

Roll the dough out and using a cookie cutter cut into desired shapes. I used a Mickey Mouse cookie cutter to make it fun plus they looked super cute!

Baked until it’s cooked through and the biscuits have a golden brown look… once cooled down, serve and store the rest in an air tight container.

Leave a Reply

