Broccoli Mash

Broccoli !!! I grew up eating them and I haven’t really hated it, probably cause my mum knew how to cook it right. As an adult now, I so enjoy raw broccoli in my salads. Mr.husband on the other hand, did not grow up eating it, isn’t a big fan of broccoli and complains if he has too much of it on his plate! So when I pulled out two broccolis out of the grocery bag and began munching on them while chopping them, he wasn’t really sure if he was going to like this dish (he didn’t even know what I was going to make LOL). He refused to munch on a piece of raw broc and thought it was quite gross LOL

I placed the broccoli mash on the table along with the rest of whatever I cooked for lunch. K spooned some of the mash on his plate and it didn’t click in his brains that the raw broccoli that I was munching on was that green mash LOL … I asked him what he thought of lunch and he said that he was actually very impressed with the broccoli mash! YAY! he apparently thought it was something minty when he saw me place the bowl on the table

So if you hate broccoli as much as K does, you should try this … the flavour is great and the onions + garlic and that little butter totally makes this yum!

Its healthy too AND lower in calories unlike mashed potatoes πŸ™‚

Broccoli !!! I grew up eating them and I haven't really hated it, probably cause my mum knew how to cook it right. As an adult now, I so enjoy raw broccoli in my salads. Mr.husband on the other hand, did not grow up eating it, isn't a big fan of broccoli and complains if he has too much of it on his plate! So when I pulled out two broccolis out of the grocery bag and began munching on them while chopping them, he wasn't really sure if he was going to like this dish (he didn't even know what I was going to make LOL). He refused to munch on a piece of raw broc and thought it was quite gross LOL

Summary

    Ingredients

    2 Broccolis
    4 cloves garlic
    1 medium onion diced
    A knob of butter
    to taste Salt and pepper

    Steps

    1. Cook the broccolli and garlic either by steaming, or cook in some boiling water for a few minutes
    2. You don’t want to over cook the broccoli and loose the nutrients in the water πŸ™‚
    3. Saute the onion in some butter
    4. Once softened, remove from the health
    5. Put the cooked broccolli, garlic and sauteed onions in a food processor
    6. Add some salt and pepper and process until its pureed fine
    7. Transfer to a serving bowl and serve warm

    Leave a Comment